Peanut butter cookies

I still remember the first time I tried my hands at baking. I was about nine, and had just read this activity book which detailed a number of fun things to do, one of them being cookie baking. And for some reason, I immediately decided that the cookie baking activity was the one I would have to do. Like the next day. I also remember my mum trying to help me out, but my 9 year old self was adamant that I would do it myself… which wasn’t the wisest decision in the world.

Everything went well, until the cookies were taken out of the oven. My eager hands reached out for a cookie, but they were nothing like the chewy yummy cookie I envisioned. In fact they were rock hard. I kid you not. And that was when I retraced my steps and realised that I forgot to add butter to the cookie dough. That batch of cookies ended up in the bin (for obvious reasons), and I learnt a very good lesson about the importance of butter in baked goods.

Fast forward to the me of today, where the eagerness for baking has become even more pronounced. I’m always on the lookout for good recipes, and when I saw these peanut butter cookies on Smitten Kitchen, I knew I had to make them. Not only did they look fabulous, but they were Deb approved! Perfect. I especially liked the fact that they were rolled in sugar, which made them look extra pretty.

And you know what, I really really loved these cookies. I daresay this is the best recipe I’ve tried (and I’ve tried a fair number of them), and I wasn’t even using peanut butter chips! I used chocolate chips as peanut butter chips are not easy (nor cheap) to come by in London – so they weren’t as peanut buttery as they could potentially be, but I was still one happy bunny. A very happy one.

As always, I cut down on the amount on sugar in the recipe (something I learnt from my mum, who always uses only 2/3 of the amount of sugar stated in a recipe, and you know what – it always works). I used 1/4 (instead of 3/4) cup of caster sugar, and kept the same amount of brown sugar – but did feel that the cookies were a tad too sweet! I suspect it may be because the cookies were then rolled in sugar, which added to the sweetness of the cookie. But you know, a little sugar never hurt anyone… so it’s okay. 😀

But yes. Try making these, and if you’re a peanut butter fan I promise you won’t be dissapointed.

Peanut butter cookies
Ever so slightly adapted from this recipe on Smitten Kitchen (who adapted it from the Magnolia Bakery Cookbook)

  • 1 1/4 cups flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup peanut butter (I used chunky peanut butter because.. well it’s more peanutty) 😀
  • 1/4 cup caster sugar
  • 1/2 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tablespoon milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup chocolate chips (use 1/2 cup chocolate chips and 1/2 cup peanut butter chips if you can get your hands on some)
  • For sprinkling: 2 tablespoons sugar, regular or superfine (I used caster sugar)

1. Preheat oven to 180°C.

2. Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a medium sized bowl. Set aside.

3. In a large bowl, beat the butter and the peanut butter together until fluffy.

4. Add the sugars, and beat until smooth.

5. Add the egg and mix until just combined.

6. Add the milk, vanilla extract and the flour mixture, and beat thoroughly.

7. Stir in the peanut butter and chocolate chips with a spatula.

8. Place sprinkling sugar on a plate. Drop by rounded teaspoonfuls into the sugar, then onto baking paper lined cookie sheets, leaving 3-4cm between each to allow for expansion.

9. Using a fork, lightly indent and flatten the cookies (traditionally people form a criss-cross pattern, but I chose to only have parallel lines). The cookies in their pre-baked state are rather crumbly, so be careful to not flatten the cookies to enthusiastically, as they may fall apart.

10. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes. Cookies may appear to be underdone, but they are not and will firm up whilst cooling.

11. Cool the cookies on the sheets for 5 minutes, then remove to a rack to cool completely.

45 thoughts on “Peanut butter cookies”

  1. Sinful isn’t it? Can’t say no to anything peanut buttery….I always believe Deb too, if she says it’s good, it has to be! I found peanut butter chips here in Australia from a shop that only sell American Products such as Crisco shortening etc. Try looking out for such shops in London, it’s madness I tell you! You munch on it like snacks!

    1. I have found it on google, but can’t justify spending £4.50 on a small pack of peanut butter chips when I could get 4 packs of chocolate chips for the same price. 😛 The pains of not living in US!

  2. wow, your cookies look divine, and i love the way you photograhed them next to the milk: it’s making my mouth water! also, i just started a food blog, and i would appreciate it so much if you could give me some tips at http://www.charskitchen.wordpress.com , since your blog is already such a success!
    thanks

    1. Aww thank you so much! Well done on starting the blog, I always think that’s the hardest step. 🙂

  3. Su-yin, yours look moreish! I also made peanut butter crisscrosses today! Hahaha! Our minds were on the same track, I guess.

    I think yours look cute due to their mini size. Mine can never turn out to be like this, they are always flat.

    Oh, no! You already started baking cookies at 9!? I feel so ashamed now. I started only when I was 20! Hahaha!

    1. Lol you missed out the part where the cookies were a complete failure. So it doesn’t count. 😛

      I love mini anything, as it means I can eat them without feeling as guilty. Though I just eat more, come to think of it….

    1. PB anything is always awesome. 😀 They’re crispy on the outside, but soft on the inside. They lost their crispy exterior within a few days though, even though I stored them in an airtight container.

    1. You have a choc chip cookie recipe with condensed milk?! Ohmygod I need this recipe. I shall be stalking you until you give it up 😛

    1. Thanks Lorraine. Believe it or not I never tried milk with PB cookies before this, and now that I have there’s no turning back!

  4. These cookies are beautifully presented (love that shot) and the recipe with a very moderate amount of sugar and lots of peanut butter is right up my alley! Thank you!

  5. hey Su-Yin! remember me? amazing recipes & blog. love the pictures too. I even recommended to my mom about your blog. will try the PB cookies this weekend. looks yummy!

    1. Farah! Yes of course I remember you! Thanks for stopping by, and I’m really glad you like the blog. Hope the PB cookies turn out well! x

  6. These look very addictive! They look so cute. I can just see myself popping one into my mouth every few minutes. Beautiful pictures.

    1. “Popping one into my mouth every few minutes”. Why that’s exactly what I did. 😛

      And thank you so much for the lovely compliment on the photos.

    1. It makes 50-60 cookies depending on how big/small you make them. If I remember correctly I got about 55.

  7. Oh, I forgot to say, I made these last week and they were delightful!

    I love the fact you get so many cookies from a batch and they went down well at my craft class, hubbs sneaked a box to eat whist he’s at work too!

    I prefer them crisper and I found the ones at home a little too soft and crumbly the next day so I pput them in a hot oven for a few mins ’til tinged with brown. They stay nice and crispy now! YUM!

  8. Can use top flour instead of plain flour? I read somewhere that too flour is healthier. Will cookies become too soft with top flour?

    1. From what I understand, top flour is similar to cake flour and is very finely ground. Not used top/cake flour for cookies before, so can’t vouch for how well it would work. I suspect it’d make the cookie more tender/soft. (Bear in mind this recipe makes for a soft/chewy type cookie.)

      Hope that helps.

      Do let me know if you decide to try the top flour!

Leave a comment