In photos: Taste of London 2011

Yes. You read that right. This is a post about Taste of London 2011, twelve whole months ago. This is the problem with eating too much, and not blogging enough..

But anyway, since Taste is coming up again in a matter of days (21st-24th June 2012), I thought it’d be best to post the photos from last year. You know, because technically it’s still ‘current’, as this years event hasn’t taken place yet. (Who am I kidding?) But better late than never, right?

For those of you who don’t know what Taste is all about, you can read more about it in my previous blog post here. Or you can visit their website here.

Warm smoked Loch Var Salmon, lemon verbena jelly, pickled cucumber and sweet rye from Skylon. This came second in the ‘Best of Taste’ awards.

Iberico pork & foie gras burger from Opera Tavern. This was my favourite dish of the day. I’ve since tried it in the restaurant itself, and I still love it. In fact, it’s one of my top ten dishes in London!

Jamon carving at the Opera Tavern stand

Spicy duck popcorn from Club Gascon

Now, I have no recollection of what this dish is (besides the fact that it’s a terrine), nor any inkling of which restaurant it was from. I only remember liking the pistachios in it… I’d look it up in the Menu Card but I can’t find it. Highly annoying, especially when I have the menus for 2009 and 2010 (and I thought, for 2011) safely on my bookshelf. I bet I’ll find the menu after I publish this post… Sod’s Law.

Foie gras burger & summer truffle from Club Gascon. This won the ‘Best in Taste’ Award – but I must say I personally preferred Opera Tavern’s burger.

Summer truffle risotto from Gauthier Soho. This was so good that we booked a table at Gauthier for the following month.

Lamb cutlets (I think) from somewhere.. another dish I can’t recall. Apologies!

Mexican doughnuts with mojito sorbet from Asia de Cuba. I really liked these, and they were a great sweet to end the day with.

I never fail to stop by the JINGTea stall…

… because who can resist good tea? 😉

The Laverstoke Park Farm stall, with lots of little nibbles.

Buffalo milk ice cream – very good indeed!

Whole Foods ‘spin the wheel’ challenge. I LOVE Whole Foods. I’m a little obsessive when it comes to arranging stuff perfectly, and the way they arrange the produce in Whole Foods in perfect pyramids… *swoon*.

Malaysian food stall, with some VERY important pantry staples most Malaysians have in their pantries (minus the ‘kacang botol‘, which is perishable – we tend to eat this with ‘nasi ulam‘). Milo is probably my favourite of the lot (I even made a Milo ice cream!), but Nestum comes a close second. And for those of you chilli lovers, you MUST try Maggi’s sos cili bawang putih (garlic chilli sauce). It’s quite different from Siracha as it has a different kick. I always have both Maggi and Siracha to hand. 🙂

Waitrose Cooking School session – I think they were making pavlovas with strawberries…

Blue skies (this was when it wasn’t pouring with rain – the weather was very erratic!).

They didn’t have these tables set up previously, it was good to have these as it gets quite hard to eat and balance your plate at the same time!

Try to pretend you don’t see the copious amounts of mud on the ground…

And that, dear readers, is my take on Taste 2011. It wasn’t easy to remember everything from a year ago – certainly a good reason to be a little less tardy with the blogging!

* If this post has made you curious, do check out my more comprehensive post on Taste 2010 here (which in comparison, I blogged about very promptly).

4 thoughts on “In photos: Taste of London 2011”

  1. I went for a day last year and it was miserable; full of braying Americans pushing to the front of the stalls, mud everywhere, and your money didn’t get you far at all. Never again.

    1. I agree that last year was complete pants because of the rain and mud, much preferred it the previous year when it wasn’t so yucky. And also because I got to take a photo with Jun Tanaka… lol. I can only hope they’ve put down more walkways this year, as the weather forecast isn’t looking too good!

      Having said that I do enjoy the fact that all the restaurants are in the same place, giving me a chance to try their food – don’t think I’d have gone to Opera Tavern for a meal had I not tried their burger at Taste. It’s definitely not a cheap day out though – entry fee is expensive (and gets you nothing), and the crowns do add up.

  2. Hi Su Yin, we have similar posting problems, i.e. lazy blogger! You were recommended by Helen @foodieguide because I’m visiting London next month and wondered if there were any good Malaysian Eats to try? My mother was born in S’pore so brought up eating spicy Malaysian food and hankering for it. We have nothing in Miami, USA! I lived in UK for 17 yrs. prior to moving to the States but in those days, there was NOTHING. I’d also appreciate any recommendations for interesting Asian markets, street food stalls/trucks. As a wok cooking teacher, I’m trying to compile a ‘resource’ page & love nosing around Asian food markets. Apologies, I’m writing this before searching on your site. Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Leave a Reply

