Milo ice cream

Every so often, I make something that makes me REALLY excited and happy. If you recall, I received an ice cream maker from the Fairy Hobmother not so long ago, and I was itching to make some ice cream. And so I did.

The first batch of ice cream I made was a vanilla and raspberry swirl ice cream… which I ate straight out of the ice cream maker as I could not bear to wait a few extra hours to allow it to solidify further (the ice cream comes out of the ice cream maker in a ‘soft serve’ type texture you see).

Photo courtesy of nestle.com.my

Two days later, I decided it was time to make some ice cream yet again, and this time experimented with incorporating Milo into the ice cream custard mixture. For those of you who don’t know what Milo is… where have you been?!! Kidding. ๐Ÿ˜› I daresay any person who’s from South East Asia (and I even dare to say Australia) grew up with Milo, which is a chocolate and malt powder which is mixed with milk/water (and a touch of condensed milk *cough*) to make up one of the best ‘hot chocolate’ drinks EVER.

The Milo truck used to come by our school all the time, giving out cups of ice cold Milo on a hot humid day (let’s face it, when is it not hot and humid in Malaysia?)… fond memories. ๐Ÿ™‚ According to the Milo website, Milo contains ACTIGEN-Eยฎ, a combination of 8 vitamins and 4 minerals that helps to optimize the release of energy from food. These are the B Vitamins (B1, B2, B3, B5, B6, B12, Biotin); Vitamin C; Calcium; Magnesium; Iron; and Phosphorus. This is supposed to give one the energy to get through the day’s activities uninterrupted. (I tend to drink it before I sleep though, so I can’t vouch for this energy thing).

Most of you Malaysians and Singaporeans out there may also remember all those Milo ads on the television with their tag line of “It’s marvelous what Milo can do for you!”. I suspect it’s not as “marvelous” for you when you eat it out of the tin with a spoon on a regular basis (like me), but you know what, it’s so good that I can’t stop myself from doing it.

So yes. I MADE MILO ICE CREAM! I churned the ice cream at 11.30pm, and could not bring myself to eat ice cream just before going to bed. Also, I did want it to solidify a bit more so it could reach the right ice cream consistency. So this meant that whilst at work the next day, all I could think about was my Milo ice cream. I kid you not when I say the journey home from work never took so long (and it only takes me 20 minutes), as I was so excited about trying it. Ah, the little pleasures in life. ๐Ÿ˜‰

The moment I got home, I rushed to the kitchen, opened the freezer, dipped a spoon into the ice cream, and….. BLISS. I absolutely loved how it tasted, and had to stop myself from eating up the whole tub pre-dinner.

Later that day, I was more civilized and served the ice cream in teeny little bowls I bought when I was in New York, and topped the ice cream with… you guessed it, MORE Milo. What can I say, I’m obsessed.

I adapted David Lebovitz’s vanilla ice cream recipe to make this, and I must say it is an excellent recipe. It made for a very creamy and decadent custard base, which is the key to a good ice cream. I can’t wait to try out some of his other recipes, and I can imagine that each and every one is just as good. He wouldn’t have such a bestseller ice cream book otherwise!

I actually made 2 versions of the Milo ice cream – one was a pure Milo ice cream (i.e. all brown), and also a mix of vanilla and Milo ice cream (i.e. a mix of a white and brown). I suspect it’s not that obvious because of the copious amounts of Milo I sprinkled over the tops of the ice cream…

I believe I will be eating a whole lot of ice cream in the near future. Thank goodness it’s summer, which gives me a slightly more valid reason to do so. ๐Ÿ˜€

Milo ice cream
Adapted from a recipe in The Perfect Scoop

  • 1 cup whole milk
  • pinch salt
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup Milo
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla bean extract (alternatively, use seeds from half a vanilla bean)
  • 2 cups heavy cream
  • 5 egg yolks

1. Set up an ice bath by placing ice and water into a large bowl.
2. Pour the double cream into a bowl, and place this bowl into the ice bath.
3. Warm the milk, salt, sugar, Milo and vanilla bean extract in a pot over medium heat.
4. In a separate bowl, stir the egg yolks together. Gradually pour the milk into the egg yolk mixture, whisking constantly.
5. Pour the egg yolk/cream mixture back into the pot, and cook over low heat, stirring the whole time. Cook until the mixture thickens to a custard consistency –ย  it is ready when you can draw a clean line through it on the back of a spoon, using your finger.
6. Strain the custard into the heavy cream. Stir constantly over the ice bath until cool.
7. Refrigerate the custard/cream mixture until thoroughly chilled. Some recommend doing this overnight, I only left it to chill for 4-5 hours.
8. Churn the chilled mixture in your ice cream maker, according to the manufacturers instructions.

p.s. If you don’t have an ice cream maker but still want to revel in homemade ice cream goodness, try this recipe for semifreddo. It’s a no churn recipe that gives rise to something very similar to ice cream, and is just as delicious.

42 thoughts on “Milo ice cream”

  1. I am *this* close to buying my first ice cream maker! And Milo was a flavour I was thinking of – love chocolate malt ice creams. Thanks for the recipe!

  2. this post is made me realise that i haven’t had milo for the longest time, and that i will be making myself a cuppa as soon as i click post ๐Ÿ˜›

    i used to have a cup before i sleep each night too….ahhh and loved eat it dry too lol. but i think this icecream version would be the ultimate indulgence!

  3. I looove the idea of Milo icecream – malt is such a great combo with dairy. I have an inkling that dairy is exacerbating my sinuses but I’m choosing to pretend it isn’t happening.

  4. Oh god this just sounds amazing! I saw Mowielicious is going to post a recipe for condensed milk icecream soon, and I’m thinking, could milo be merged with condensed milk in an icecream?!

    1. Yes omg Mowie’s condensed milk ice cream was SO good. Tasted exactly like frozen condensed milk, haha. And you read my mind! I was thinking of incorporating some condensed milk into the ice cream the next time I make this, I don’t see why it wouldn’t work. I’d probably reduce the amount of sugar and milk, and add 2-3 tablespoons of condensed milk. Will update post if I ever do this.

  5. Hello, miss!!! Can I invite myself over for a spot of Milo ice cream?! I don’t have an ice cream maker, and I love Milo to bits (like you, I eat it straight out of the tin), so that works out to 1+1=2! I am coming over!! :p

  6. Oh yeah, those days at school… Fond memories of Milo!! I am a great fan of Milo and if I had to bring one thing back o the UK from Msia, Milo it is!!
    The little touch of condensed milk… Yum…
    I really want to try this but I need an ice cream maker ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. OMG!! Love your post! I love hot chocolate, but MILO’s still the best!! It brings back childhood memories ๐Ÿ˜€

    Just curious, are you picky with which Milo you have as well? The ones we get here is different.. It’s rough, grainy and tastes different as well. So whenever I’m back in M’sia, I’ll carry some back to London :p

    1. I am EXACTLY the same as you!! I always bring my Milo and Nestum back from Malaysia – I must admit I’ve not tried the Milo here, but many people have told me that it’s just not the same. So I’ve always made sure I’m well stocked. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. I was SO blessed to have been allowed a few scoops of this – thanks Su-yin! – and I can vouch that it was AMAZINGLY DELICIOUS. I want more!

  9. Oh my goodness! What a description, and what photos! I am actually tempted to swipe with my finger the ice-cream dripping down the side of the bowl.

  10. What a great idea. I used to have milo sprinkled on top of vanilla ice cream as a kid, and very happy to eat it straight out of the tin, too. Can only imagine how delicious this would be. Looks amazing! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. No idea where to get vanilla bean extract in Malaysia I’m afraid, not seen it. You could try asking Swee San (The Sweet Spot) as she’s a keen baker, and is based in KL. I spend most of my time in London you see..

Leave a Reply

