Passionfruit yogurt cheesecake & the winner of the CSN giveaway!

Every now and again you come across something that you know you simply have to make. Sometimes it’s a recipe you see in a cookbook, sometimes it’s something you see on the television, and sometimes it’s something you see on other food blogs. On this occasion, it was Stephane’s passionfruit tofu cheesecake that caught my attention. Tofu? In cheesecake? Definitely interesting, as I’d never heard of it before.

I still had some Total Greek yogurt at the time, so decided to try substituting the tofu for yogurt – and then prayed hard that it would work out. And thankfully, it did work. The yogurt provided a beautifully creamy texture to the cheesecake layer, and I could even tell myself it was “healthy” because I used fat free Greek yogurt and light cream cheese.

Instead of making them into mini cakes, I decided to make them into tarts. What can I say? I’m a bit of a rebel when it comes to cooking – I can’t stick to instructions and am always adapting recipes to suit my mood on a particular day. Having said that, I’m not someone who believes that recipes are something that need to be followed to the letter – I agree that it’s important when it comes to things like pastry, but when it comes to day to day cooking I believe it’s more than acceptable to tweak the recipe to suit your liking.

And because I only have a limited number of tart cases, I used ramekins for the remaining cheesecakes (or in this case, cheesecake pots). I quite like how these turned out – the only tricky bit was scraping up every last bit of the biscuit base which was wedged into the groove at the bottom of the ramekins. I’m a HUGE fan of biscuit bases – I believe that it is a very important component of cheesecakes, and if I must be honest I think it’s my favourite thing about cheesecakes. Strange? Perhaps.

But before I get to the recipe, I have to announce the winner of the CSN Stores £50/$75 voucher giveaway! Thank you to all of you who participated, and after compiling all the entries – random.org has chosen entry #41 as the winner!

Congratulations, Leilani! You’ve just won yourself a CSN Stores gift voucher worth $75/£50! I hope you enjoy spending it. 🙂

Passionfruit yogurt cheesecake
Adapted from this recipe on Zen Can Cook
Makes one 8 inch cake/10-12 cheesecake pots

For the biscuit base:

  • 15 digestive biscuits, crumbed
  • 120g butter, melted
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

For the yogurt cheesecake:

  • 400g greek yogurt (I used Total fat free Greek yogurt)
  • 450g cream cheese, at room temperature (I used Philadelphia light cream cheese)
  • 3 tablespoons passionfruit juice (I used Tropicana orange passionfruit juice)
  • 1 vanilla bean, split and scraped (I used 1 tablespoon vanilla bean paste)
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons powdered gelatine
  • 3/4 cup sugar

For the passionfruit jelly:

  • 4 ripe passion fruits, juiced – reserve the seeds
  • 1/2 teaspoon powdered gelatine

For the biscuit base:

1. Preheat the oven to 180’C. Butter an 8 inch cake tin/ramekins/tart tins. If using a ring line the bottom with aluminum foil and place on a baking tray.

2. Put the digestive crumbs in a bowl, and add the sugar, ground ginger and salt to it. Mix well.

3. Add the melted butter to the crumb mixture, and mix until combined. Transfer the mixture to the prepared tin/ramekin and press it down in an even layer. Bake until golden (takes approx 10 minutes – this may differ according to the size of your tin) and let it cool completely.

For the yogurt cheesecake:

4. Put the yogurt and the passion fruit juice in a food processor and mix until smooth. (I used a stand mixer)

5. Put the heavy cream in a small saucepan and heat until warm to the touch. Add the powdered gelatine to the warmed cream,  and stir until dissolved. Remove from the heat and set aside.

6. Put the softened cream cheese, sugar, salt and vanilla seeds/vanilla bean paste in the bowl of a stand mixer, and beat until fluffy.

7. Fold cream, followed by passionfruit yogurt mixture into the cream cheese mixture until incorporated.

8. Pour the cheesecake mixture into the crust, and refrigerate until set. This will take at least 6 hours.

For the passionfruit jelly layer:

9. Strain the passionfruit juice and place in a small saucepan over low heat. (I didn’t strain it)

10. Add the powdered gelatin and stir until dissolved. Remove from the heat and let it cool.

11. Meanwhile rinse some of the passion-fruit seeds and place on top of the set cheesecake.

12. Pour the passionfruit mixture on top, and refrigerate for at least one hour/until set.

13. Serve!

31 thoughts on “Passionfruit yogurt cheesecake & the winner of the CSN giveaway!”

  1. Rubbing my eyes in glee and amazement Su-yin, these are fabulous! Love the vibrant contrast and the beautiful colours! Love the molds too. Oh ya, Zen Can Cook, but dahlin’ girl, so can you! Well done indeed!

  2. I bet passion fruit cheesecake tastes good. I haven’t made cheesecake for eons … and haven’t tried pairing the dessert with passion fruit. I love the tang and unique sweet tropical smell of the fruit! They are everywhere over here … now.

    Agree. When it comes to day-to-day cooking, I tend to be a rebel too. HAHA!

    Congrats to the winner!

    1. I must admit that I only recently started using passionfruit in cooking/baking, and am loving it! Cheesecake is not something I bake too often, too fattening lol. 😛 This one was a bit better though coz it’s “healthy” (thanks to the yogurt!). Hehe.

  3. These are stunning! I love that you are such a rebel in the kitchen.

    I’m so intrigued by cheesecake made from tofu. I have to make this now to see how it taste.

  4. Loved the beautiful desserts. And, they were as tasty as attractive.

    One question, where can I find the tart pans that you used?

    Also, did you butter the tart pans before pressing in the base?
    Any problem in taking the cakes out of the pans—-seems not!

    Thanks so much.

    1. Hi Marion, I’m glad you like the look of these! I got my tins from John Lewis, they’re called “mini quiche tins” I believe. But as you can see, they have more uses than that! 🙂

      And no, I didn’t have any problems unmoulding the cheesecakes. I did oil the moulds lightly with a flavourless oil beforehand though, as I didn’t want it to get stuck to the many ridges of the tins!

      Hope that helps!

  5. This looks so yummy!! So many people ask me if I make cheesecake here in Tanzania… but cream cheese is just not available… so once I master the homemade cream cheese AND track down some plain gelatine (so far, not available in my small town of Tanga) I am going to try this for sure 🙂

Leave a Reply

