Raspberry buttermilk cupcakes

So. Remember that photo of the cupcakes I posted right before I went off on holiday? (Actually you probably don’t, simply because it’s been ages since…) Anyway, I’ve decided that it’s high time I blog about them, and take one thing off my seriously worrying list of backlogs. I mean, I have things dating back to January that are still in the ‘someday’ pile. Eeep.

But enough about that, and on to the cupcakes. As I’ve mentioned previously, I *love* Bill Granger. His recipes are simple, he provided me with my favourite pancake recipe and seems like a genuinely nice person (on his show anyway). What more could you want? He is also by far, one of the smiley-est chefs I’ve seen on tv – in fact he smiles so much that sometimes I struggle to wonder what he would look like without a huge grin on his face. I currently own three of his cookbooks, and I love all of them. The gorgeous photos help, of course (one to each recipe, the way I like it!). Every recipe I’ve used from his books has worked well, with the added bonus of them being really easy to whip up from ingredients you’ll tend to find in your fridge/storecupboard.

I was intrigued by this recipe for a buttermilk cake with a raspberry syrup the moment I saw it. I like using buttermilk when baking, as I find it makes the cakes/bread/cupcakes very soft and moist. The best thing about it is that you can easily make your own buttermilk at home – just add 1 tablespoon of lemon juice or vinegar to 1 cup of milk, and let it sit for 10 minutes. Voila, you have buttermilk!

I tweaked the recipe slightly, as I preferred the raspberries in the cake as opposed to only being in the sauce. I also made them into cupcakes because… they’re cuter. Plus it gave me a chance to experiment with a sugar icing topping, something I’ve been wanting to do for a while. However, I did find that many of the raspberries burst during the baking process, which meant my cupcakes were slightly ‘wetter’ and denser than I would like. Maybe that’s why the recipe calls for a raspberry syrup… hmmm. And perhaps I should learn how to follow recipes properly. But no matter, because despite my issues with it’s ‘wetness’, I still enjoyed the cupcakes – a lot.

Raspberry buttermilk cupcakes
Adapted from a Bill Granger recipe in Bill’s Food

For the cupcakes:

  • 125g butter, softened
  • 180g caster sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 250ml buttermilk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 250g plain flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 200g raspberries
  • pinch of salt

For the sugar icing:

  • 60g icing sugar, sifted
  • 2-3 tablespoons hot water
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • raspberries (optional)

1. Preheat the oven to 180°C.
2. In a large mixing bowl, cream the softened butter and sugar until it becomes pale and fluffy. I use my trusty Kitchen Aid (on high speed), but this will work just as well with handheld electric beaters.
3. Add the eggs one at a time, beating well in between the addition of each egg.
4. Turn the mixer down to low speed, and beat in the buttermilk and vanilla extract until just combined.
5. Sift in the flour, baking powder and salt into the mixing bowl in two batches, mixing well (either with a spatula or with your mixer on low speed) in between each addition.
6. Lastly, carefully add the raspberries into the batter – they’re quite fragile so take care to not ‘burst’ all of them, or you’ll end up with a red batter!
7. Spoon the mixture into a greased muffin tray/muffin cases.
8. Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until a skewer comes out clean/and the cupcakes are golden. Leave to cool.
9. Whilst the cupcakes are cooling, make the topping. Mix the sugar, hot water and vanilla extract in a bowl until it forms a smooth mixture.
10. Once the cupcakes have cooled, pour the sugar icing over each cupcake. Do not pour too much on as it will envelope the whole cupcake in icing, and it won’t look as nice.
11. Top with raspberries (if you like), and serve.

38 thoughts on “Raspberry buttermilk cupcakes”

    1. Thank you! I was actually really pleased with how the photos turned out, so am glad you like them too!

  1. you’re a Bill Granger whore and I love you for that! 😀 these cupcakes are so sweet and beautiful. I think raspberry anything is amazing and you have it with buttermilk?! lost for words. gorgeous. x

    1. Bill Granger rocks. 😀 Can you imagine how I would stake out his restaurant/cafe if he opened one in London?

  2. I don’t mind “wetness” in cakes, actually I love it! I was always very happy when a cake my mum baked shrank, because it wasn’t so dry! lol And I also like anything with raspberries! Overall, these cupcakes seem very tempting! 🙂

    1. Haha that is true, you’re too wise! 😉 Glad you like them, and I agree – anything with raspberries (or any berries actually) are delicious.

  3. They look great but I’ll probably do without the icing though. But the icing makes them look extravaganza like they’re on their way to some grand Oscar party. I like Bill Granger too and have to agree he really smile a lot, in fact too much for me sometimes! It’s winter here in Australia, I’ haven’t been seeing raspberries for a while except for those frozen ones….

    1. Your description of them being on their way to a grand party put a smile on my face. Glad you think they’re glam enough for that! 🙂 The disadvantage of winter is the lack of fresh berries…. but you do get to make all sorts of unhealthy comfort food and not feel guilty about it! So it balances out. *ahem*

  4. oh my goodness you ARE backlogged! i ate these AGES ago and they were delicious as expected from baker extraordinaire – YOU! Looking forward to you catching up on posts 🙂

    1. I know, it makes you want to like him! Am still hoping that he may one day open a Bill’s in London… hehe.

    1. Glad you think it was a good call, I was slightly undecided about how that would turn out I have to admit!

  5. Adorable! I love the fact that you shared how to make buttermilk… I’m still a newbie when it comes to cooking and baking, and I never knew that’s how you made buttermilk, how easy! Thanks!

    1. Glad that tip was helpful, I often have to make it that way as not all grocery stores in London stock buttermilk regularly.

    1. Awww thanks my lovely. These set of photos are one of my favourites so far – I suspect it’s because I like the polka dot napkins!

  6. Su-yin, despite the minor hiccups, I seriously think your version of the cake looks drop-dead gorgeous!

    Hey, no worries … I also have mountain-high pile of backlogs to clear … But, I don’t seem to be worrying over them. Haha!

    Agreed. I sometimes tend not to stick true to recipes, especially when I feel confident that my adapted version is gonna work. Well, sometimes my adventurousness pays off and sometimes don’t. LOL! At least, we know that we are daring bakers! LOL! Nice to experiment. =)

    Keep it up, don’t stop inspiring me!

    1. Daring bakers – in a completely different sense. But then again, isn’t that how people come up with good recipes? 😉

      And thank you so much for the sweet comment. xx

Leave a Reply

