Chocolate chip pancakes

I made these today, approximately 10 minutes after waking up. Why so soon after waking up? Well… I had a dream you see. A dream that I was eating pancakes. It was such a clear dream, and I could practically taste the chocolate chips in the pancakes in my sleep. Which is why I just had to make some for breakfast/brunch. I’m terrible, I know. 😛

I’m a huge fan of pancakes, and am always on the lookout for good pancake recipes. It took me a while (and quite a few failed attempts) to find a recipe that I liked, but I finally got there a year or so ago. I found this recipe on the BBC Good Food website, and have been using it ever since, as it always produces beautiful results.

Chocolate chip pancakes
Adapted from this recipe from BBC Good Food

  • 200g self raising flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 egg
  • 300ml milk
  • 2 tsp lemon juice
  • approx. 120g chocolate chips (use more if you have a sweet tooth, I usually just eyeball this)
  1. Add the lemon juice to the milk, and set aside.
  2. Mix the flour and baking powder in a large bowl.
  3. Make a well in the centre of the dry ingredients, add the milk and the egg, and mix with a wooden spoon. (It’s okay to have some small lumps in the batter, I find that overmixing can sometimes lead to a dry and less fluffy pancake.)
  4. Stir in the chocolate chips.
  5. Heat some butter in a non-stick frypan under medium heat. Drop 1/2 cup of batter into the pan, and cook for approx 2 minutes until small bubbles appear on the surface of the pancake. (I like to make one pancake at a time, but you could always make 2-3 at the same time if you have a large frypan.)
  6. Once the bubbles appear on the surface of the pancake, flip it over, and cook for 1-2 minutes on the other side.
  7. Stacking the pancakes are a handy way of keeping the pancakes warm. Alternatively, you can keep the pancakes warm in the oven.
  8. Serve with icing sugar or maple syrup, or with both!

14 thoughts on “Chocolate chip pancakes”

Leave a Reply

