Toku Restaurant, Japan Centre

I had a sudden craving for Japanese food last week, so R and I decided to go to Toku, the restaurant in Japan Centre. It’s one of our regular Japanese haunts, partly because the food is pretty good, and reasonably priced. It’s located in a brilliant location, smack in the middle of Piccadilly Circus, which probably explains why there are always people in the restaurant.

We were given complimentary wasabi peas, which are nice to snack on whilst browsing through the menu (especially if you’re starving!).

Cold oolong tea – approx ยฃ2 per can (if I remember correctly)

Pork katsu don (served with miso soup) – ยฃ12

The pork katsu don is one of my favourite Japanese rice dishes – deep fried breadcrumbed pork fillet, served with rice and an organic egg cracked over the top. It did not dissapoint, with beautifully cooked pork, and a egg that was just the right amount of runny (if that makes any sense). It’s served alongside a bowl of miso soup, which is nothing out of the ordinary.

Unagi (eel) don – ยฃ15

The unagi don is another one of my favourites, and my parents declared this dish the best when I brought them here last month. Even my sister, who is normally quite a fussy eater enjoyed this thoroughly! I think that they first grill the eel, and finish it off with a blowtorch to give it the nice random “burnt” bits, which really do add so much more to the dish. Like the pork katsu don, this is also served with miso soup. I always think of the Friends episode where Ross tries to convince Rachel and Phoebe that they need to have “unagi” to be “always prepared” for any harm that may befall them. I do try to refrain from using Ross’ unagi “hand symbol” in public though. ๐Ÿ˜› Such a brilliant show, Friends.

Rainbow roll (8 pcs) – ยฃ15

The rainbow roll is basically a sushi roll filled with prawn and avocado, and topped with a range of fresh sashimi – eel, salmon, prawn and squid. It’s good, but not as good as another one of their rolls, which is essentially the same roll with a different topping (fresh white fish sashimi and fish roe). I didn’t have that this time around but will definitely be having it some time in the near future, so stay tuned for a photo of that! I love the plates used to serve the sushi in this place, and am still on a hunt to find something similar to add to my ever-growing plate collection.

I’m always completely stuffed when I go to Toku for a meal, and this time was no exception. Nonetheless, it did not stop me from going to Minamoto Kitchoan, which is one of the prettiest shops I’ve ever set my eyes on… and I shall blog about that next. ๐Ÿ™‚

Restaurant Toku
The Japan Centre, 212 Piccadilly, London W1J 9HX
Tel: 020 7255 8255 Fax: 020 7434 0313
http://www.toku-restaurant.co.uk/restaurant.html

4 thoughts on “Toku Restaurant, Japan Centre”

  1. That rainbow roll looks better than any rolls I’ve ever seen in the US! Unagi is probably my favorite Japanese dish followed by Katsu. Lucky you!

    1. Hehe that’s probably why I enjoy your blog as much as I do, as we seem to like similar dishes. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I actually went to japan on an exchange programme when I was 15, and believe it or not, wasn’t a huge fan of Japanese food at the time. I am still waiting for my chance to return and eat all the food I missed out on 8 years ago!

Leave a Reply

